TMAG welcomes new Trustee

Today the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery (TMAG) was very pleased to welcome new member of the Board of Trustees Adam Liaw as he attended his first meeting in Hobart.

Adam holds a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) and Bachelor of Science from the University of Adelaide and is an experienced non-executive director in the arts, not-for-profit, education and diplomacy sectors.

He is currently a board member of TAFE NSW, The Museum of Chinese Australians (MOCA), i8 Studio and the Australia Japan Foundation under the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Tasmanians will also be familiar with Adam as a writer and broadcaster, as he is the author of eight cookbooks and has hosted a range of documentary, food and entertainment TV and audio programs on the ABC, SBS and Audible.

Adam said he was delighted to be joining the TMAG Board of Trustees.

“I am a keen visitor to Tasmania, not just for its wonderful gourmet scene but also because of its thriving cultural sector,” Adam said.

“I look forward to drawing on my previous board experience to help shape the future of this important institution.

“While today is my first day on the Board, I am excited about delving further into TMAG’s treasures and learning more of its stories in the weeks and months ahead.”

Chair of the Board of Trustees, Brett Torossi, said Adam would bring significant experience to the role.

“Adam’s legal training and experience, coupled with his service on several boards, including those of TAFE NSW and MOCA, will be a valuable addition to the Board,” Brett said.

“We are also looking forward to drawing on his business and fundraising experience, and his expertise in communications and marketing.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank outgoing Trustee Professor Jim Reid for his dedication and service to the museum throughout his appointment.”

Adam joins fellow members of the Board of Trustees Scott Baddiley, Mark Fraser, Andrew Catchpole, Heather Rose, Denise Robinson and Chair Brett Torossi.

Members of TMAG’s Board of Trustees are appointed by the Minister for the Arts, having regard to their expertise, qualifications and experience, following an expression of interest process.

Pictured (L-R): New Board member Adam Liaw, Minister for the Arts the Hon. Elise Archer MP and Chair of the TMAG Board of Trustees Brett Torossi.